The Bellingham Theatre Guild engages the community to create live theatre experiences

The Bellingham Theatre Guild is a nonprofit, all-volunteer organization that has been producing theatre in Whatcom County, Washington, since 1929, including more than 700 productions with over 7,000 performances. After meeting initially at the Normal School (now Western Washington University) in Bellingham, in church halls, and a mortuary, BTG purchased its current theatre, a former church, in 1944.

BTG has initiated new ways to encourage younger Members to engage with the Guild through Behind-the-Curtains tours and a One Act Theatre Festival. Current Members of the Guild continue to recognize and honor the forward-thinking planning done by their predecessors: the energetic Board has made changes to the organizational structure of the Guild, embraced technology, planned for major building improvements, and moved toward making annual giving a habit. With these changes, BTG has resolved to pass on a vibrant, sustainable, and innovative Guild to future generations.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors help to set direction for the Guild, as well as provide for the future of the organization from a financial standpoint. Your energy and talent are needed at the Board level: contact the Guild and lend your expertise in an official capacity.

Executive Committee

President: Andrew Backus
Vice-President: Pat Lund
Vice-President of Production: Kathy Murray
Treasurer: Les Campbell
Secretary: Heidi Sackerson
Past-President: John Purdie


Mike O’Neal
Robert Muzzy
Alan Peet
Dee Dee O’Connor
Liz Leighton
Rachel Sullivan